Happy sappy cheesy meesy

Wednesday, Feb. 19, 12:26 AM

I’m so out of date with this journal that I’m at a loss of what to talk about first. (As I’ve mentioned, typing is somewhat more of an effort than I’d like, and No, I haven’t even graduated to level 2 on Mavis Beacon yet โ€“ I haven’t been at a computer for 2 weeks!) So many things I could go on about… like observations of the tiny wedge of India I’m acquainted with; how I’m rougher and dirtier and more relaxed and happier than I can ever remember being in my life; about my being here, far removed from the US while the economy is spiraling out of control; the grasshopper jumping all over my bed as I type; of the joy of befriending locals and travelers, expanding the web of love and brotherhood well beyond this temporary Goan dream; how cycling has and continues to enrich and ignite my life more than I could have ever imagined; my speculations and dreams about my tomorrow and future… Overall it’s a butt-load of mostly nice things to think about, and I thank the universe every day for providing me everything I have and need and love. Literally, I say to Jamey all the time, “I can’t believe this is our life!”

I suspect that my absolute love for life hereย isn’t shining through as much as I thought, amid all my distracting reports on the freaky and sensational cultural differences that I hope you’ll find interesting. ย Even though I can’t express it adequately, I want to say that traveling by bicycle here and now is amazing. Everyone gasps and cannot comprehend why we’d choose such “difficult” means of travel, and I laugh because it’s all the contrary! In a nutshell, it’s the freedom, the lack of guidelines, the in-expense (no petrol, no public transport!), the empowerment of DIY, the bypassing of nothing, the real country in-your-face, the unwavering kindness of people outside tourist places… it’s so incredibly easy, pleasant, surprising, rich, and addictive…ย 

I’m just putting it out there, but if you feel like you’re at a point in your life where you can draw a line a sand, leave the world you know behind for a while and go on an adventure, I welcome you to join us. Amy decided to do it in a moment and was here less than a month later, with bike and a month’s saved wages in her pocket. Her scenario was one I’m sure you can relate to: as a freelance painter her gig was up end of January, and February looked unpromising. She could hang around, and spend ALL her money on rent and food in expensive NYC, looking for work or waiting for her March gig, OR she could take the money and run. With only a month’s planning, she scrimped and saved, and is here living comfortably for at least 3 months, thanks to the killer exchange rate coupled with modest (and good-for-you!) living. You can do it too. Our arms are open to you!

Leave a Reply

