FREE

Tuesday, September 22, 11:38 PM
New York, New York, USA

  • I feel like I have a lot of FREE time. Wanna hang out?
  • I’m still in NY, bumming around. I’m extra self-aware as not to over-stay with all my gracious hosts, all of whom make me feel extra Welcome, but sometimes I can’t help feel like a mooch, not paying rent, being a FREEloader. I try to help out & leave things at least as nice as I found ’em, but still, it doesn’t equal rent.
  • I was on Governor’s Island last weekend. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, it’s an island in the New York Harbor between Manhattan and Brooklyn, closed-off to the public for decades, and it’s been a recently reclaimed as public space. Anyway, last weekend there were no fewer than 3 events/festivals going on simultaneously, and for the first time in the 3 years since it’s been open, they carried on into the night. It was magic. Best of all, the ferry was (and is always) FREE, as well as the festivals and events. Not to say money couldn’t be spent at one of them (which sucked big time, garishly sponsored by Heineken), but the Figment participants on the Boulevard of Broken Dreams represented with a full day of non-commercial music by the Warper posse, mini-golf, and beautiful art installations… it felt like a mini Burning Man of sorts. Hands down one of the best vibes I’ve felt in public NYC.
  • I like being single. If I wasn’t, I probably wouldn’t be having such great 1-on-1 times with all my friends and family, and meeting new people. I don’t mean to put anybody down… I’m just happy to be a FREE bird, thats all. If I wasn’t, I probably wouldn’t have slept on 6 different couches in the last 9 days. I’m a vagabond. Hee hee, I just looked it up and I like the definition: vagabond- a person who wanders from place to place without a home or job.• informal, dated a rascal. So this rascal went to a Danger party this weekend themed “1933”, encouraging a depression-era dress-code of moth-chewed suits, I felt like I could really Hobo-out. It was great.
  • Final note, as these are supposed to be short: Money sucks. I loved my week in Black Rock City, where I didn’t carry a wallet or spend a dollar on any damn thing. I love you Burning Man and your bewitching ways. Beyond money, you are FREE to do just about any damn thing you can dream, and after three years I’m not the least bit unimpressed. Default World, I love you too. But money, I still hate that I need you. Thank goodness that most of life’s riches come FREE.
Leave a Reply

