Trust Me, I’ll Fit

Monday, May 3, 2010. 7:52 PM
Opononi, Northland, New Zealand

I’ve taken to hitchhiking lately. Especially since I’m on my own, and I’ve defeated my ego which derives pride from a cheat-free bike tour, I don’t mind skipping some bits. There’s too much of the world to bike everywhere, so I choose and skip at will, and besides, it’s a great way to meet random (awesome) people.

Disclaimer: this is a fleshing-out of a rant I jotted down while riding and trying to hitch with no luck yesterday.

Trying to hitchhike with a bicycle reveals the close minded. I was actually getting annoyed with the humanity in Northland, because yesterday I tried to hitch everything that moves as I pedaled the final 80km to the furthest point North, and nobody stopped.

Funny thing is I didn’t really care whether I got a bite or not. It’s two days ride up, two days back down, one road. And as I don’t like spending the whole day (or two) retracing steps, I resigned to hitch one way, either way. I won’t deny the satisfaction of completing a challenging ride on my own, as it really is a good feeling. It was also a good feeling to shout “Thank you for the rejection!” as each car passed. But I got to thinking, as I do on these long trips:

As I put out a thumb (admittedly while riding), I reasoned that this unusually stiff response had to do with ignorance. Either all these tourists were too fresh-off the boat (we are just north of the big port, Auckland) to know how it works here, man! Or they thought that my big bike and I couldn’t fit into their wee auto. This, I decided, was what they were all thinking. Little do they know, though, that my bike is a folding bike! I’ve fit into some tiny-ass autos. No-trunk small. Any Subaru will do.

I found it sad that these folks were underestimating their potential to do good. I can’t help because that bike won’t fit. This know-it-all mentality reduces one’s potential to do good. Thinking how to help liberate them from this small-thinking, which reduces our mutual well-being – cuz I’m a good hitch! – I resolved to make a hitching-teeshirt. Maybe YES WE CAN FIT! will help.

Any clever slogans from the peanut gallery?

PS – In case you’re wondering if I got my ride down, yes I did. Upon my arrival at New Zealand’s northernmost campground, I had my doubts, as everyone here had already rejected me at some point today. But that didn’t stop me from schmoozing and asking around. One fellow I waved at as he pulled-in came over and said hi, I saw you with the thumb out today, see you made it alright! I explained that I had decided to hitch one way, got any room? And we worked it out. Today we had a grand old time, driving down the 90 Mile Beach in his 4WD Bongo (it was meant to be), and now we’re camping, and I gave him his first feijoa fruit! Mmmm! So the lesson here is that it’s never too late to open up and let me in.

One thought on “Trust Me, I’ll Fit”

Leave a Reply

