Addicted to sweets

Not much to buy here for vegan vegetarians. Hence, I rarely buy any prepared foods, and I cook for myself every day with basic staples (with Jeff Smith’s great help of course). But I have made a few concessions.

I’m in Argentina now. I love it for many reasons, but that’s another story. (But I’ll say that the sweets are excellent!) Last night I fished out of my pannier two most precious items: a roll of Kuky and a bar of Sahne-Nuss.

Kuky

Kuky is the most addictive thing I’ve ever known. It’s chocolate chip cookie perfection. Each and every bite is so delicious. You can’t hold back; once you pop… you can’t stop. It doesn’t satisfy, only leaves you wanting more. It’s so hard not to eat the whole package in one sitting. We have Okay choc. chip cookies in the US, but they can’t touch this. Mmmmm. Apparently, though, they don’t sell ’em in Argentina. I’m not sure yet if this is good or bad.

Sahne-Nuss
Sahne-Nuss may be an average main-stream milk-chocolate bar with almonds made by international conglomerate Nestle. I don’t even appreciate milk chocolate any more. But somehow, (the complete lack of dark chocolate in southern Chile perhaps?), I love this. It became our de-facto gift for all those deserving of a token of gratitude. (We always had 3 in the stash for such occasions.) Now there’s One. And despite the dizzying multitude of new chocolate bars available here in Argentina, there is no Sahne-Nuss. And I’m not keen to start searching for a substitute. Again, not sure whether it’s good or bad.

When I found these two surviving relics of my sweet rewards of Chilean pavement-pounding in my pannier last night, I initially held-off. I felt bad, having totally planned on sending a huge care-package back home, filled with none-other than my favorite consumable simple pleasures for each of my folks: two rolls of Kuky, a big bar of Sahne-Nuss, and a package of merquén, THE Chilean spice of roasted coriander mixed with ají chile pepper. A trip to the supermercado yesterday confirmed, however, that none of these things are available here in neighboring Argentina, to my dismay. I f’d up. So what to do with these two? First instinct was to send ’em home in a time-capsule (for myself haha), to break out in some distant special day. This morning, after I woke up from the warmth of the sun’s beating on our tent, I found the soft chocolate bar among my stuff. Doh! That marked the beginning of the end.

There is a third non-vegan sweet that has recently become a bad habit: dulce-de-leche. It’s very common in these parts, and it’s extremely cheap and good. Sweet shops at every turn sell fresh alfajores in any size to satisfy your sweet tooth, ranging from $.25-$1. This is terribly convenient. And for the packaged stuff, you can buy a kilo (2.2lbs for you gringos!) of the good stuff (called Colun haha) for US$2. Jeff and I discovered this almost kilo ago, best served on fresh bread. But I think the addiction factor is tapering off (I haven’t had dulce in almost 2 days :)

Obviously these sweets aren’t vegan, which kind of sucks, but neither is virtually everything people serve in South America. I’ve been bad, but I think it was a phase.

And with that, I eat the last Kuky in the package.

Mmmmm. So definitely good.

2 thoughts on “Addicted to sweets”

  1. Anth your the ‘best’
    Sometimes its just the little things in life that can mean so much…like chocolate.
    I’m glad your enjoying yourself and the chocolate. I miss you and think of you everyday, as always stay safe LD

  2. Ant, I’ll do a little investigating and see if any of your edible discoveries can’t be found locally stateside. There’s apparently a fairly significant Chilean population here, news reports around the time of the trapped miners would have us know. That spice mixture sounds enticing. I’ve rediscovered good ol Nutella recently… on my second jar already!

Leave a Reply

